David Tennant. LGBT Ally or Misogynist?

until we wake up and Kemi Badenoch doesn’t exist any more – I don’t wish ill of her, I just wish her to shut up – whilst we do live in this world, I am honoured to receive this

Firstly, I’m no Tory.

The above is a direct quote from a speech that David Tennant, a male actor, made at the British LGBT Awards.

Kemi Badenoch is the UK Equalities Minister. She happens to be female.

Firstly, “until we wake up and Kemi Badenoch doesn’t exist any more” isn’t a nice thing to say publicly about anyone. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve said it. But I then don’t go on to say: “If I’m honest I’m a little depressed by the fact that acknowledging that everyone has the right to be who they want to be and live their life how they want to live it as long as they’re not hurting anyone else should merit any kind of special award or special mention because it’s common sense, isn’t it?”


Wishing that someone doesn’t exist is wishing hurt on someone else. You’ll notice he very promptly added “I don’t wish ill of her”. Backtracking much?


Has Kemi Badenoch wished any person, trans or otherwise, to not exist anymore? I honestly don’t know. Privately, probably. Publicly? I don’t know. But lovely, kind-hearted David Tennant has.

Now, telling a woman to “just shut up” in a discussion that affects women and girls is misogynistic. For generations women have been told to shut up and keep quiet. How dare this man do that. The trans conversation directly affects women. Not all aspects of the trans conversation, but some of it. Women have a right to talk. To be heard. So does everyone.


I’m disappointed. I believe everyone should live and let live as long as they’re not hurting anybody. Absolutely. This man has a public platform. His words could have real-life consequences for Badenoch and maybe all women.


Badenoch also happens to be black. Tennant is white. A white man telling a black woman to shut up has its own issues. Issues which I’m not well educated enough to discuss.

Again, I’m no Tory. “Fuck the Tories” is even on some merchandise that I design. I hate them. As a disabled person, they have thrown me to the curb. Labour threaten to throw me to the curb because I’m a disabled woman. Whoever I vote for has disdain for me.

David Tennant is a disgrace. By telling women to shut up he could set the clock back generations. How about, and I know this is radical, but have a conversation? “Shut up” doesn’t solve anything. It antagonises people. You can’t help people understand a different point of view by making an enemy of them. That goes for all sides.


In a society of catchphrases and slogans, the words of a celebrity can have real power. Tennant’s words have caused a divide. He has given permission for people to tell women to shut up if they disagree.


Women have opinions. Women have voices. We will not be silenced.


I invite discussion not dismissal.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started